Euro 2020: Host nations announce positions on fans


The deadline for the 12 host cities of Euro 2020 to announce their plans for fan attendance has passed – so what is each country’s position?

The tournament, delayed a year because of the coronavirus pandemic, will take place between 11 June and 11 July.

Host associations had been asked to submit plans to accept fans by 7 April.

London, Glasgow, Dublin, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, St Petersburg, Bilbao, Munich, Budapest, Baku, Rome and Bucharest are all due to host matches.

With Uefa expected to make a final decision on host cities at an executive committee meeting on 19 April, and all host cities required to guarantee fan presence, BBC Sport takes a look at the proposals of each.

London, England
Wembley, with a capacity of 90,000, is set to host the final on 11 July among its seven games – along with both semi-finals, one last-16 game, and all three of England’s group games .

The British government has said up to 10,000 spectators will be permitted inside English grounds from mid-May, and unlimited numbers from 21 June.

The English FA also says it is prepared to host any additional games that cannot take place elsewhere, having already picked up extra matches originally allocated to Brussels.

Glasgow, Scotland
There were concerns that a failure to confirm fan numbers may result in Glasgow being removed as a host city, though First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said last month she remained hopeful Hampden Park would stage Euro 2020 matches this summer.

On Wednesday, the Scottish government gave approval for 12,000 supporters to attend games at Hampden in June.

That is 25% of Glasgow’s 51,000-capacity stadium, where three group games – including Scotland’s Group D fixtures against the Czech Republic and Croatia – and one last-16 game will be played.


You might also like